Our Team

The United Way of Central Massachusetts Team

Meet our Staff

The following individuals contribute to the improvement of the community on a daily basis. Whether a United Way staff, resident fellow, community partner, or an intern, they make a difference every day. The main number for the office is (508) 757-5631.


Staff Member Position Email Phone Extension
Zoe Almeida Community Engagement and Women’s Initiative Coordinator zoe.almeida@unitedwaycm.org 297
Kerry Conaghan Vice President of Community Impact kerry.conaghan@unitedwaycm.org 262
Ginger Conti Associate Director of Development ginger.conti@unitedwaycm.org 225
Jennifer Davis Carey Exec. Director – Worcester Education Collaborative jdaviscarey@wecollaborative.org 252
Emily Dodge Assistant Director – Worcester Education Collaborative edodge@wecollaborative.org 222
Tim Garvin President and CEO tim.garvin@unitedwaycm.org 227
James Hayes Chief Operating Officer james.hayes@unitedwaycm.org 250
Julia Kilgore Deputy Director – Worcester Education Collaborative jkilgore@wecollaborative.org 223
Echo Lahey Program Manager, ASOST R Grant echo.lahey@unitedwaycm.org
Theresa Lynn Senior Vice President for Advancement theresa.lynn@unitedwaycm.org 240
Emily McCann Vice President Community Engagement and Women’s Initiative Director emily.mccann@unitedwaycm.org 251
Idaliana Medina Community Engagement and Women’s Initiative Manager Idaliana.medina@unitedwaycm.org 261
Victoria Morand Finance Manager victoria.morand@unitedwaycm.org 201
James Pepin Data Systems Specialist james.pepin@unitedwaycm.org 241
Paul Soucy Director of Labor – AFL/CIO paul.soucy@unitedwaycm.org 212
Doreen Thornburg Director, Donor Services doreen.thornburn@unitedwaycm.org 210

Board of Directors

The volunteer Board of Directors provides leadership and sets policy for United Way of Central Massachusetts. Board members act as stewards for the monies raised in our community, understand United Way’s legal responsibilities, review existing policies and formulate new policies, review and approve the annual budget and audit, and review and approve community partner funding decisions.

Our Board of Directors is a dedicated group who are invaluable to our community, both for their enthusiasm in raising money and wisdom in assuring its distribution.


Member Affiliation
Che Anderson UMass Chan Medical School
Kola Akindele Worcester Polytechnic Institute
Pat Baliva Saint-Gobain
Maureen Binienda Worcester Public Schools
Joseph P. Carlson Central MA Labor Council
Dr. Matilde Castiel City of Worcester
Jeffrey Chin RFK Community Alliance
Therese Day UMass Memorial Medical Center
Sheila H. Dooley Pernet Family Health Services, Inc.
Joseph M. Hamilton – Chair, Community Impact Mirick O’Connell
Deborah Larsen Wells Fargo
Dan Mastrototaro Hanover Insurance Group
Rep. James J. O’Day State Representative, 14th Worcester District
Elizabeth Oluokun Amazon
Luis G. Pedraja Quinsigamond Community College
Gina Plata-Nino Central West Justice: Community Legal Aid
Alex Richardson Worcester Red Sox
Naomi Sleeper – Chair Imperial Distributors, Inc.
Brian Sullivan Berkshire Bank
Rev. Clyde Talley – Treasurer Belmont A.M.E Zion Church
John C. Tanacea Bank of America
Elizabeth Vittum – Chair, Women’s Initiative Seven Hills Foundation
Christopher Watson Webster Five
Edward H. White – Chair-Elect National Grid